We Will Sit in the Constructive Opposition: Pradyot Kishore Manikya

Bharatiya Janata Party secured a total of 32 seats, while the TIPRA Motha bagged the second-highest number of 13 seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party emerged as the party with majority seats in the assembly elections of the year 2023 followed by the TIPRA Motha Party. The minimum number of seats that are necessary to form the state government is 31 and the Bharatiya Janata Party secured one seat more than the necessary number. It also entered into a pre-poll alliance with the Indigenous People’s Front of Tripura which managed to secure one more seat.
The TIPRA Motha Party, which participated in the assembly polls for the first time got good support from the people of the state. They managed to secure a total of 13 seats among the total 60 seats of the assembly, emerging as the second largest party of the state. They announced their decision to take the position of the opposition party in the assembly.
The chief of the TIPRA Motha Party, Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debbarma thanked the public of the state for electing the candidates of the local party. Talking about the plans with the assembly, he mentioned, “we are the second largest party so we will sit in the constructive opposition but will not sit with CPM or Congress. We can sit independently. We will help the government whenever they need.”

Pradyot Debbarma (file Photo)

He had resigned from the position of the president of the Congress party in Tripura in the year 2019 and formed the Tipraha Indigenous Progressive Regional Alliance (TIPRA) for the development of the indigenous population of the state. His attempt for a pre-poll alliance with the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress was not reached as the parties did not agree with the terms of the Greater Tipraland Demands. During the counting of votes for the Tripura Assembly on Thursday, a spokesperson of the Bharatiya Janata Party had mentioned that the party is willing to accept all demands of the TIPRA Motha except the one for a separate Greater Tipraland.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.