Supreme Court reserves judgment on Disqualification of 12 MLAs

Imphal, December 09 2021: The Supreme Court has on Thursday reserved its judgment on the disqualification of 12 MLAs, who were appointed as Parliamentary Secretaries for holding office of profit.

The judgment was reserved by three Judges after the hearing of the writ petition filed by Congress MLA DD Thaisii against Election Commission of India along with SLPs filed before the Court with the same matter.

The matter was called for hearing today before the bench of Justice L Nageswara Rao, Justice B T Gavai and Justice B V Nagarathna.

During the hearing, the Court heard the submission of the petitioner DD Thaisii counsel who submitted that the present petition has become infructuous.

As regard to the SLP which were heard along with the writ petition, the Court heard the argument which concluded today and reserved its judgment.

The Supreme Court sent a notice to the Secretary of Manipur Governor in connection with the case regarding the Election Commission opinion on the disqualification of 12 MLAs of the State for holding an office of profit as Parliamentary Secretaries.

Yesterday, Governor LA Ganesan dismissed the petition to disqualify the 12 MLAs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.