Repoll ordered at 12 booths on Mar 5

Imphal, March 03 2022: The Election Commission has approved re-poll at 12 booths in five Assembly Constituencies that went to polls in the first phase on February 28 .

A press release issued by Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Agrawal informed that repolling of the 12 stations spread across three districts would be held on March 5 from 7 am to 4 pm.

Notably, the second phase of election for 22 remaining seats will also be held on this day (March 5) .

The polling stations where re-polling would be held are 1/20 Sarouthel in Khundrakpam AC (Imphal East), 51/46 New Keithelmanbi in Saitu AC (Kangpokpi), 56/5 Songsang, 56/10 Maite and 56/19-Tinsuong (Thanlon (ST) AC); 57/20 Majuron Kuki, 57/31N Chingphei, 57/34 Khoirentak, 57/39- Molsang and 57/49 Leinom (57 Henglep (ST) AC); 60/36 Teikot and 60/43 Maukot (Singnat (ST) AC) .

Repolling is scheduled for one booth each in Khundrakpam and Saitu seats, three in Thanlon, five in Henglep and two in Singnat.

“The proposal for re-poll in these polling stations was recommended based on the facts and information received from respective Returning Officers.

One of the main reasons for consideration of re-polling was connected to damage of EVMs by miscreants during and after the poll,” the CEO said.

It may be mentioned that the ruling BJP, Congress and certain political parties demanded a repoll in many polling stations, especially in Kangpokpi and Churachandpur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.