Remaining six ministers to take oath today

Imphal, April 15 2022: The BJP-led government in the state, which was formed in March, is up for another expansion and the remaining ministers are likely to take oath on Saturday, thereby filling up all the 12 ministerial posts in the government.

According to sources, following instructions from the national leaders to fill up the 6 remaining ministerial posts in the state BJP government, preparations have been made for the ministry expansion and swearing in of the remaining ministers on Saturday itself.

Sources conveyed that at least two ministers are likely be sworn in from Imphal West, one each from Bishnupur, Tengnoupal or Churachandpur districts, one from NPF and one from Imphal East.

According to reports, the MLAs in the race for the ministerial posts are Khasim Vashum, H Dingo, Letpao Haokip, Dr S Ranjan, Th Basanta and L Susindro.

It may be mentioned here that after N Biren Singh was elected as the Chief Minister for the second term of the BJP government on March 21, six MLAs were also sworn in as ministers.

They include Th Biswajit (Imphal East), Y Khemchand (Imphal West) , Govindas Konthoujam (Bishnupur), Nemcha Kipgen (Kangpokpi) and NPR’s Awangbow Newmai (Tamei).

So far, two ministers including the chief minister are from Imphal East which has 10 assembly constituencies, one from Imphal West which has 13 ACs, one from Bishnupur which has 6 ACs, one from Kangpokpi Which has 3 ACs and one from Tamenglong and Noney districts, which have 3 ACs.

The districts which do not have ministers are Thoubal and Kakching districts, which have 10 ACs and BJP had won 4 of the seats; Chandel and Tengnoupal wherein BJP had won all 2 seats; Ukhrul and Kamjong wherein BJP’s ally NPF won all 3 seats; Jiribam where in JD(U) won the lone seat; Senapati wherein the 3 seats were won by an independent, NPF and NPP; and, lastly in Churachandpur and Pherzawl districts, wherein BJP won 3 seats, JD(U) 2 and 1 by KPA.

BJP won 10 out of 13 seats in Imphal West, while the remaining 3 seats were won by JD(U), NPP and an independent.

In Imphal East, BJP won 8 seats and the remaining seats by INC and JD (U).

CM Biren, cabinet member number one Th Biswajit and speaker Th Satybrata were elected from Imphal East.

Meanwhile, the 3 seats of Tamenglong and Noney districts were won by BJP, NPP and NPF.

Of this, NFP president Awangbow Newmai was given a ministerial post, while BJP MLA Dipanglung alias Dipu Gangmei was ap pointed as chairman of Hill Areas Committee (HAC) .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.