Political workers protest denial of ticket

Imphal, January 30 2022: In the aftermath of announcing the BJP tickets for the upcoming state assembly election on Sunday, supporters and workers of intending BJP candidates launched impromptu protests in different parts of the state.

In Sagolband assembly constituency supporters of BJP former candidate Dr Kh Loken burnt BJP flags to denounce the party leaders’ decision of favouring RK Imo, who recently joined the party.

After hearing about the BJP ticket being given to RK Imo, supporters of Dr Loken protested by torching party flags and other items at Sega Road Takhellambam Leikai.

They also raised slogans against the decision of the party leaders.

A police team led by additional SP (LO) Imphal West district Nepram Netrajit arrived at the spot and tried to control the angry supporters.

The agitators then started pushing the police barricades and rushed towards Tiddim Road, which prompted the police to fire smoke bombs to disperse the mob.

Despite this, the protestors managed to reach Tiddim road and then squatted in the middle of the road and forced vehicles to turn back.

To prevent occurrence of untoward incident, the police herded the protestors back to Sega Road Takhellambam Leikai and strengthened security.

A team of SSB also arrived at the site to reinforce the security.

Hours after the BJP announced the list of candidates for the Assembly election, irate party supporters also burnt effigies of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Chief Minister N Biren Singh at different parts of the state, especially in the valley areas.

Unhappy over the selection of candidates for the Assembly polls, the BJP supporters also shouted slogans against PM Modi, CM N Biren and BJP state president A Sharda and vandalised party offices in various parts of the state.

In Sagolband, where the BJP has named Congress turncoat, RK lino Singh, supporters of a party ticket aspirant ransacked the BJP’s Mandal office.

As per reports, security has been tightened around the BJP headquarters in Imphal.

According to reports received here, many intending candidates and functionaries of party’s units resigned from the BJP expressing resentment over selection of candidates for the forthcoming polls.

Office of Khundrakpam unit of BJP located at Yumnam Khunou has been dissolved after Nongthombam Rajendro of Khundrakpam assembly constituency was denied BJP ticket on Sunday.

The announcement was made in a joint meeting of mandal executive members, morcha members, booth presidents, secretaries, executive members, Shakti Kendra pramukhs,’kamal sakhi president, secretary, members, lotus club president, secretary, members and BJP workers.

Kakching district too witnessed strong protests against the denial of BJP ticket to sitting Kakching MLA Mayanglambam Rameshwar with his supporters burning BJP flags and posters.

Speaking on the sidelines, BJP Kakching Mandal president Shougaijam Shyamjai announced that the BJP Kakching Mandal has been dissolved with immediate effect.

He lamented over denying ticket to MLA M Rameshwar and giving it to Y Surchandra who has only recently joined the party and said that it is an insult to the party workers and officer bearers as well as to the hard work of M Rameshwar who from 2013 has built up the party from the grassroots in Kakching assembly constituency.

Shyamjai continued that the party’s decision has totally uprooted the party from the AC, hence, BJP Kakching Mandal has been dissolved immediately.

BJP Yuva Morcha Kakching Mandal executive member Shougaijam Sadananda said that it was due to MLA M Rameshwar’s effort that the party stand tall in the constituency and earned people’s trust.

But due to vested interest of some state BJP leaders, MLA Rameshwar has been denied ticket to contest election from the AC.

BJP came to power with the promise of uprooting corruption but now it has become a den of corruption.

Denial of ticket to MLA Rameshwar is not only disrespecting him but also the people of Kakching AC who love and support BJP.

From today onwards they will not support BJP and will boycott BJP leaders in Kakching, he asserted.

Meanwhile, workers of Khwairakpam Iboyaima, an intending candidate of BJP in Sugnu AC, also protested against denial of ticket to him by burning BJP flags and posters at Wangoo on Sunday.

The protestors shouted slogans against the decision and announced boycott of BJP in Wangoo area henceforth.

Security was beefed up at all BJP offices throughout the state following the violence which erupted after the candidate list was announced, official sources said.

Several BJP leaders including those who were aspirants for party tickets but were left out to accommodate recent defectors also resigned from the primary membership of the party.

Angry workers at Sagolband, Kakching, Moirang and Keisamthong assembly constituencies burnt party flags, pamphlets, ransacked local offices, and shouted slogans to show their dissent.

At Thanga, workers burnt effigies of the chief minister and the state BJP president, after former Trinamool Cong MLA T Robindro who had won in 2017 elections but later joined the saffron party was selected to contest the polls.

BJP activists claimed all members of Khangabok Mandal tendered mass resignation citing “recent award of BJP ticket to a party newbie,” neglecting a leader who had “sacrificed for BJP for almost two decades”.

Meanwhile, SSB personnel in full riot gear and state security forces are maintaining yigil at the BJP head office, Thambal Sanglen, at the centre of Imphal town.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.