Notification for by-Election to five Assembly seats of Manipur

IMPHAL, Sep 18-2020: Notification for by-election to five Assembly seats of Manipur may be announced by the first week of October.

The five Assembly segments which would go to by-polls are Wangoi, Lilong, Saitu, Singngat and Wangjing-Tentha.

A well placed source informed that first level checking of EVMs procured for the by-election is currently underway.

Even though the Assembly Constituencies of Kumbi, Kakching, Thanga, Henglep, Andro, Lamlai, Naoriya Pakhanglakpa, Tamenglong and Wangkei are also vacant following disqualification or resignation of the MLAs, they may not go to by-polls as cases are pending at Court.

They may join the by-polls if the election petitions pending at Court are withdrawn.

Notably, the disqualification order issued by the State Assembly against the MLA of Thanga AC has been annulled by the Court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.