Nominations filed for Meghalaya Rajabala by-poll

SHILLONG: The United Democratic Party (UDP), on Wednesday, announced the name of Garo Hills Autonomous District Council (GHADC), Member of District Council (MDC) Ashahel D. Shira as their candidate for the Rajabala by-poll. His candidature was announced UDP president Metbah Lyngdoh.

Shira is the sitting MDC from Batabari. He had won the seat on a Congress ticket. He was also a legislator from 2013-18. He lost the 2018 election to late Dr. Azad Zaman. It may be mentioned that Shira had applied for the Congress ticket, which eventually went to Hashina Yasmin Mondal, the wife of late Dr. Zaman.

When asked about the chances in Garo Hills especially Rajabala bye-election, the UDP said that in the last GHADC election the regional party has made inroads in the region.”We did not expect the votes that we got in the last GHADC polls,” Lyngdoh said. The UDP president said that the GHADC election results was an encouragement to the party.

Lyngdoh also said that the party had done proper analysis as far as the Rajabala seat was concerned and felt that the candidate will win the by-poll.

The UDP informed that the party has decided to support National People’s Party (NPP) candidate Pyniaid Sing Syiem for the Mawryngkneng seat. According to Lyngdoh, the UDP did not put up a candidate for Mawryngkneng based on the recommendation of the circle leaders. “As the party at the State level we have endorsed the decision taken by the circle,” the UDP president said.

Earlier in the day, UDP candidate, Eugeneson Lyngdoh filed his nomination for the Mawphlang seat. During the filing of nomination, Lyngdoh was accompanied by Home Minister, Lahkmen Rymbui, KHADC, CEM Titosstarwell Chyne, UDP general secretary Jemino Mawthoh, party workers and family members. Lyngdoh is the son of late legislator S. K. Sunn. He said that he has decided to hang up his boots by contesting the by-poll, stating, “I don’t think I can juggle two professions at the same time.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.