Nomination of Khurai trio approved

Imphal, February 09 2022: The Returning Officer (RO) of Khurai AC has accepted the nomination of three candidates of the constituency, who will be contesting the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election.

During the scrutiny on Wednesday, BJP candidate Leishangthem Susindro Meitei pointed out to the RO that there were discrepancies in the affidavits submitted by RPI (A) candidate Khagokpam Khamba, NPP’s Laitonjam Jayananda Singh and NCP nominee Khuraijam Ratankumar.

After examining the objection in detail, the RO issued an order late in the evening, stating that the nomination of the candidates cannot be rejected.

Referring to Section 6.9.1 and 6.10 (iv) of the Handbook of Returning Officer, the RO accepted the nominations of the three candidates for the upcoming election.

It may be noted that although an RO cannot reject the nomination of a candidate submitted with wrong or incomplete details, if the candidates happen to win the elections, a case can be filed in the Court and they can be disqualified from the seat of MLA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.