Newly elected Members sworn in

Imphal, March 14 2022: Altogether 59 newly elected Members of the Manipur Legislative Assembly were sworn in today.

The swearing-in ceremony was held in the main hall of Manipur Legislative Assembly, Chingmeirong today.

The oath taking ceremony was administered by Protem Speaker Soro-khaibam Rajen Singh who got elected from Lamsang Assembly Constituency.

The oath taking ceremony started at 11 am and lasted for about one hour and forty minutes.

Out of the 59 MLAs who took oath today, 31 are from BJP, seven from NPP, six from JDU, five from INC, five from NPF, two from KPA, three are Independent MLAs.

Notably, BJP’s S Rajen was sworn in yesterday by Governor La Ganesan as an MLA of the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly before he was appointed as Protem Speaker.

This time, there are five lady MLAs which is also the highest ever in the history of Manipur Legislative Assembly.

They are Irengbam Nalini (Oinam AC, NPP), Sagolsem Kebi (Naoriya Pakhanglakpa AC, BJP), Nemcha Kipgen (Kangpokpi AC, BJP), SS Olish (Chandel AC, BJP) and Kimneo Haokip Hangshing (Saikul AC, KPA) .

Out of the 60 newly elected MLAs, 23 are new faces.

Nine MLAs namely Irengbam Nalini (Oinam AC), Lourembam Rameshwar (Keirao AC), Thounaojam Shyamkumar (Andro AC), Khwairakpam Raghumani (Uripok AC), Th Satyabrata (Yaiskul AC), Karam Shyam (Langthabal AC), Sanasam Premchandra (Kumbi AC), Thokchom Radheshyam (Heirok AC) and Mayanglambam Rameshwar (Kakching) took the oath of office and secrecy in Manipuri.

Speaking to media persons after the swearing-in ceremony, caretaker Chief Minister N Biren said he feels elated on the election of five women MLAs to the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly.

Their election can be seen as signal of empowerment of women, Biren remarked.There are many among the newly elected MLAs who are social activists and have impressive academic background, Biren said.

He exuded confidence that the new Government would sail smoothly for its full five-year term.

Sagolsem Kebi said that she would give priority to women’s development and welfare.

Kebi said she is hopeful that the new Government would allot Ministerial portfolios to at least one woman MLA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.