Meghalaya Bypolls 2021: Meghalaya Democratic Alliance Wins 3 Seats

Shillong: The Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) has secured a comfortable win as it has grabbed three seats in the state.

The Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad Sangma-led National People’s Party (NPP) won 2 seats, while its ally the United Democratic Party (UDP) has won one seats. UDP candidate Eugeneson Lyngdoh won the Mawphlang constituency.

Meanwhile, the opposition Congress has lost two seats to the ruling NPP.

Due to the death of two Congress legislators David A Nongrum from Mawryngkneng and Dr Azad Zaman from Rajabala – and of Independent MLA from Mawphlang SK Sunn, the bypolls in the state were necessitated.

On October 30, elections were held in three assembly constituencies — Mawryngkneng, Mawphlang and Rajabala constituency where a total of 13 candidates in were in the fray.

Md. Abdus Saleh of NPP defated his nearest opponent Hashina Yashmin Mondal of the Congress by a margin of over 1,926 votes, while NPP’s Pyniaid Sing Syiem in the Mawryngkneng constituency defeated Congress’s Highlander Kharmalki with a margin of 1,816 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *