Manipur: Swearing In ceremony of MLAs today

Imphal, March 13 2022: Manipur Governor La Ganesan on Sunday summoned the first session of 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly on Monday, to be followed by oath taking ceremony of the newly-elected members.

Meanwhile, there is still no announcement on who will lead the new BJP government in the state.

According to a bulletin released by Manipur Legislative Assembly K Meghajit Singh, the oath or affirmation ceremony of the newly-elected members to the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly will take place at 11am Monday at the Assembly Hall.

In this regard, Lamsang AC MLA S Rajen has been appointed as the protein speaker on Sunday with the Governor administering the oath at Raj Bhavan.

The bulletin further informed that the elected members have produce original certificates of election issued to them by the Returning Officers concerned.

Amidst this, BJP is yet to finalise who will be Chief Minister and the MLAs to be appointed to the council of ministers.

According to a report, BJP national general secretary (organisation) Abhay Giri is presently in Imphal and he is holding talks with the state leaders and newly elected party MLAs.

Some of the party’s national leaders will be arriving in the state within the shortest time possible to decide on the leader of the government, and who will be included in the new cabinet.

Mention may be made here that two independent MLAs, two KPA MLAs and 6 JD (U) MLAs have extended their support to BJP in the formation of the new government.

After chief minister N Biren submitted his resignation paper paving way for the formation of the new government, Governor La Ganesan sworn in elected representative of Lamsang assembly constituency So-rokhaibam Rajen as pro-tem speaker.

The swearing in ceremony held at the Durbar Hall of Ra Bhavan on Sunday morning was attended by caretaker chief minister N Biren, MLA elect of Thongju AC Thongam Biswajit, former speaker Y Khemchand, MLA elect of Bishnupur assembly constituency Govindas Konthoujam, MLA elect of Khurai AC L Susindro, chief secretary, DGP and other top government officials.

Interacting with media persons after the ceremony, Rajen said that he has been appointed as the pro-tem speaker to administer oath to the MLA-elect as he is one of the senior most politicians in the party.

This does not mean that he will remain speaker of the state assembly, he explained.

Responding to posers regarding the issue surrounding the post of CM, Rajen denied having any dissent within the party or MLAs camping.

The party will follow the decision taken by the central leaders, he said while refuting media reports over the matter.

Rajen retained his Lamsang seat defeating National People’s Party candidate Pukhrambam Sumati Devi by a margin of 400 votes.

The term of the outgoing Assembly is due to expire on March 19 .

Biren Singh on Friday resigned from his post and the Governor asked him to continue in his office until the new government takes charge.

There is no confirmation yet as to when the next chief minister would be chosen, or when the new BJP-led government would assume office.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.