Manipur: Repoll at 12 polling stations goes off peacefully

Imphal, March 05 2022: Repoll at 12 polling stations of five Assembly segments which went to polls in the first phase on February 28 was held today without any untoward incident.

The voter turnout was pegged at 77.62 per cent.

It may be noted that one polling station each in Khundrakpam AC and Saitu AC, three in Thanlon AC, five Henglep AC and two in Singhat AC went to repoll today.

The repoll conducted at 1/20 polling station of Khundrakpam AC concluded peacefully with the polling station registering a 93.29 per cent voter turnout.

There were no reports of any unwanted incidents from the polling station which was heavily guarded by Central Paramilitary and State police personnel.

INC candidate Thok-chom Lokeshwar and BJP candidate Thangjam Mohendro inspected the repoll at 1/20 Khundrakpam polling station.

Speaking to the media, both the candidates exuded confidence of winning the election and expressed their desire for peaceful repoll.

Mention may be made that Khundrakpam AC had gone to poll in the first phase on February 28 but ECI had decided to conduct repoll in 1/20 polling station opened at Sarouthel Primary School following a violent incident wherein the EVM was destroyed.

RPI (Athawale) candidate Elangbam Sovid is also contesting the election from Khundrakpam AC.

Meanwhile Chief Electoral Officer Rajesh Agra- wal has thanked the people of Manipur for coming out in large numbers to exercise their democratic right in a peaceful manner, giving a real meaning to the ‘Festival of Democracy’ .

He also thanked all the polling personnel, security personnel, Booth Level Officers (BLO), PWD coordinators, ASHA workers and Aanganwadi workers for working tirelessly day and night to ensure free, fair, peaceful, participative, accessible and inclusive polls in the State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.