Manipur observes National Unity Day

Imphal, October 31 2021: The State Government observed National Unity Day 2021 (Rashtiya Ekta Diwas) today in commemoration of the 146th birth anniversary of late Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, the Iron Man of India, at 1st Bn Manipur Rifles Parade Ground.

In his speech as the chief guest, Chief Minister N Biren Singh said that unity can be achieved through equality, mutual respect, understanding and development.

He maintained that the observance of National Unity Day gives a message to everyone that despite differences in cultures and traditions amongst various inhabitants of the country, a strong Nation can be built by following the path of great leaders.

“Let us take pledge to protect the integrity and unity of our country,” he said and appealed to Government officials to attend such Nationwide observation without fail.

The Chief Minister reminded that National Unity Day is being observed on October 31 every year to honour the contributions made by Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel in Nation building.

Under the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, the Central Government has been observing the National Unity Day throughout the country since 2014, he said.

As a tribute to his selfless sacrifice for a united India, the Government has built the ‘Statue of Unity’, which is the world’s tallest, he added.

N Biren Singh recalled that Sardar Patel was one of the greatest freedom fighters who had participated in various freedom struggles against the oppressive rule of the British.

As a National leader, he took part in many freedom struggle movements like Peasant Movement, Civil Disobedience Movement, Quit India Movement among others under the Gandhian Principle, he added.

Sardar Patel is still known as Patron Saint of India’s Civil Servant for introducing the Modern All India Services System.

Apart from this, the leader played a major role in unifying the then British Provinces and more than 500 Independent Princely States, under the Indian Independence Act, 1947, making a united India, he added.

Appreciating people’s love and support given to the present Government in the last four and half years, N Biren Singh said the State Government has bridged the gap between hill and valley regions and moved forward to bring inclusive development in the State.

Since its installation in 2017, the BJP-led Government has taken up various steps to provide good governance in the State and is committed to bring positive change and welfare of the people, he added.

The Chief Minister stated that with sincere efforts and dedication, further development in the State could be brought.

The Chief Minister further informed that the Government has decided to launch Go to Village 2.0 from November 2 across the valley districts of the State to reach out to the citizens at their doorsteps, raise awareness on Government programmes and its benefits to the people, ensure timely delivery of services to eligible beneficiaries and redressal of their problems.

As a part of the observance, the Chief Minister led others, who took part in the observation, in administering the National Unity pledge.

The Chief Minister also took salute from nine marching contingents viz-BSF, CRPF, Combined Manipur Rifles (Male), Manipur IRB (Male), Civil Police Imphal West (Male), Civil Police Imphal East (Male), 9th IRB Mahila, NCC cadets (Boys and Girls).

The marching parade was commanded by Kh Robinson, MPS, Deputy Commandant, 8th IRB.

Earlier this morning, the Chief Minister flagged off a motorcycle rally at Hapta Kangjeibung as a part of the observance of National Unity Day 2021.The motorcycle rally which was to culminate at Mao gate, was organised by Manipur Police Department.

ADGP Clay Khongsai, DIG Kamei Angam Romanus, SP (Kakching) Victoria Yengkhom led hundreds of riders in the rally which aimed at spreading the message of National unity.

Around 700 riders belonging to different groups participated in the rally.

During the function, N Biren Singh distributed certificates for participation to different rider groups.

Minister for YAS Letpao Haokip, Minister for Education S Rajen Singh, Minister for TA&H Vungzagin Valte, Minister for Agriculture O Lukhoi, Minister for CAF&PD Th Satyabrata, Chairman of Manipur Pollution Control Board L Radhakishore, Chairman of Manipur Building and Other Construction Workers’ Board H Dingo, MLA of Wangkhei AC Y Erabot, Chief Secretary Dr Rajesh Kumar, DGP LM Khaute and other top civil and police officials were present during the function.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.