Manipur: Former Congress MLA M Prithiviraj joins BJP

Imphal, October 08 2021: Close on the heels of former MPCC president Govindas Konthoujam of Bishnupur Assembly Constituency quitting the Congress to join the BJP, another man from Bishnupur district and from Moirang Assembly Constituency M Prithiviraj has also quit the Congress to sup with the saffron party.

M Prithiviraj was also a general secretary of MPCC, apart from being a Congress MLA prior to the 2017 Assembly election.

Following his entry to the BJP, a simple but impressive function was held today at Kwasiphai ground at Changleirong to roll out the red carpet for Prithiviraj where Chief Minister N Biren was personally present to welcome the new entrant.

Addressing the gathering, the Chief Minister said that the young M Prithiviraj has decided to switch side to the BJP seeing the massive changes that the BJP Government under Prime Minister Narendra Modi has brought to India as well as in Manipur.

Mentioning that Govindas Konthoujam has also jumped ship to be with the BJP, the Chief Minister expressed confidence that more would follow to strengthen the hands of the saffron party.

The BJP is a people oriented, people friendly Government, said the Chief Minister and added that ever since the party was voted to power, it has taken up various development and welfare schemes for the people.

The people know the people oriented approach of the party and hence today it is a party which has endeared itself to all, said the Chief Minister.

In Manipur too, the party has adopted a policy of equitable development and more works would be taken up to ensure that there is all round development in both the hills and the plains, added the Chief Minister.

The Chief Minister also acknowledged the gesture of sitting BJP MLA of Moirang Assembly Constituency P Sharatchandra in welcoming M Prithiviraj with the understanding that they both can work together for the betterment of Moirang AC.

Significantly P Sharatchandra was also present at the reception programme of the new entrant to the saffron party.

State BJP president A Sharda and BJP Organisation secretary in charge of Manipur and Nagaland Abey Kumar Giri were also present at the reception programme.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.