Manipur: First list of BJP candidates likely by Jan 25

Imphal, January 14 2022: Following announcement of the schedule for the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly Election by the Election Commission of India (ECI), the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is making preparations to announce party’s candidates for the two-phase election to be held on February 27 and March 3.Due to emergence of several candidates seeking party’s ticket in almost every constituency of the state, the BJP had conducted a survey so as to assess the potential of the intending, candidates to win the election.

Opinion polls within the party too had been held in some assembly segments as part of the survey.

It is said that BJP national leaders will decide on issuance of party ticket based on the report of the survey and the party has made preparations to announce the first list of candidates from February 25.The second list too is also likely to be announced soon after the first list and party’s national leaders are holding discussions in this regard.

Mention may be made here that altogether 35 assembly constituencies will go to the polls in the first phase on February 27 .

Assembly constituencies for the first phase polls as per the ECI schedule are Khundrakpam, Heingang, Khurai, Kshetrigao, Thongju, Keirao, Andro, Lamlai, Thangmeiband, Uripok, Sagolband, Keishangthong, Singjamei, Yaiskul, Wangkhei, Sekmai, Lamsang, Naoriya Pakhanglakpa, Wangoi, Mayang Imphal, Nambol, Oinam, Bishnupur, Moirang, Thanga, Kumbi, Saikul, Kangpokpi, Saitu, Tipaimukh, Thanglon, Henglep, Churachandpur, Saikot and Singhat.

According to a party source, the first list of candidates will be announced for assembly segments which would have no problem with regard to existence of multiple ticket seekers followed by other constituencies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.