Manipur Elections 2022: BJP Releases List of All 60 Candidates

Manipur: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday released a fresh list of candidates for the upcoming Manipur Assembly Elections 2022. Taking to Twitter, the BJP tweeted, “The Central Election Committee meeting of BJP has given its approval on the names of the following candidates for the Manipur Assembly Elections-2022.”

The party’s list included the names of 60 candidates who will fight in the upcoming legislative polls. Earlier on Sunday, Union minister Bhupender Yadav said the BJP will contest on all 60 seats, ruling out the possibility of forging a pre-poll alliance.

The BJP has fielded Manipur Chief Minister N Biren Singh from his traditional Heingang constituency.

Manipur will go to polls in two phases on February 27 and March 3 and the counting of votes will be held on March 10.

The ruling BJP in Manipur ahead of the assembly elections has been facing rebellion from the possible aspirants with a saffron party leader Lourembam Sanjoy Singh, on Saturday, joining the National People’s Party (NPP), the junior ally of the dominant party.

A BJP Mandal President of Lilong assembly seat (near Imphal) on Saturday threatened to abolish the party unit in the assembly constituency if the dedicated candidate is not given party ticket for the assembly elections.

Sanjoy Singh resigned from BJP as he was seeking party ticket from Andro seat in Imphal East district.

NPP national Vice-President and Manipur Deputy Chief Minister Y. Joykumar Singh welcoming Sanjoy Singh said that more BJP leaders who are anticipating that they would not be nominated by the saffron party would join NPP, which already released its first list of 20 candidates.

With four MLAs, the NPP is an ally of the BJP-led government, however, the party already announced to fight the polls on its own.

The NPP headed by Meghalaya Chief Minister Conrad K. Sangma, however, already announced to contest the elections on its own this time and would field candidates in at least 40 seats.

The NPP, a national political party, which has political bases in different northeastern states, had contested nine seats in 2017 and won four.

(With inputs from

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.