Manipur: Edn Minister Rajen approved 60 schools for 2nd phase of ‘School Fagathansi Mission’

Imphal, June 20, 2021: Education Minister S Rajen Singh announced names of 60 (sixty) schools from sixty assembly constituencies of the state under Education (S) Department, for implementation of 2nd phase School Fagathansi Mission yesterday.

Implementation of the 2nd phase includes development of infrastructure, civil works like repairing & renovation of class-rooms/ construction of toilet blocks & additional class rooms, provision of dual desk and benches, arrangement of posting of teachers etc.

An order has been issued in the regard.

Announcing the names of the schools at the conference hall at Old Secretariat, South Bloc, Imphal, S Rajen said that after the successful implementation of the 1st Phase, School Fagathansi Mission which was launched by Chief Minister N Biren Singh, the second phase is being initiated.

He said that the achievements shown during the first phase has given a hope for successful mass enrolment of students to government schools.

The development speed of the schools would have been better if not for the COVID-19 pandemic which has put much developmental works on hold, he added.

A major change can be seen on the improvement of government schools during the recent years.

The percentage of enrolment to government schools has been increased unexpectedly.

In this trend number of drop out students of the state will be reduced to most, he added.

Minister Rajen also showed photographs of completed school buildings/blocks and other infrastructures which had been taken up under the first phase to the media.

Minister also appealed to cooperate with the government and education department while implementing the second phase.

Distribution of items including school uniforms, utensils, school bags, sports materials of the second phase will be started soon, he added.

Commissioner, Education, M Harekrishna, IAS, Director, Education(S), L Nandakumar Singh, IAS, Dy.

Secretary, Education(S) T Phulen Meitei, MCS, Additional Director, Education (valley), Kh Biseshwor, MCS were also present during the occasion.