Mamata Banerjee’s Tripura dream ended; TMC gets merely 2.86 per cent of votes in by-polls

Agartala: After much hype, drama and over one year of divisive politics by its leaders, the Tripura dream of Mamta Banerjee’s TMC ended after the bypoll results were declared. After a devastating defeat in the recently concluded civic poll, Mamta Banerjee again faced a humiliating defeat in Tripura by-polls held in 4 constituencies. The four constituencies’ by-poll results in Tripura show how the people of the state ultimately rejected the appeasement politics of Mamta Banerjee.

In the Town Bardowali constituency where Tripura CM Dr Manik Saha registered a massive win by a margin of 6 thousand, the TMC candidate managed to get only 973 votes, a few more than the NOTA votes. In the Jubarajnagar constituency, BJP candidate Malina Debnath got 18769 votes, and the TMC candidate got just 1080 votes, 40 more than the Congress candidate.

In the Surma constituency, the BJP candidate got 16677 votes, and the TMC candidate managed only 1341 votes. Interestingly in the Agartala constituency, where Congress candidate Sudip Roy Barman won by getting 17431 votes, 3000 more than the BJP candidate, the TMC candidate only got 842 votes. Overall the ruling BJP got a huge 45.32 per cent of the vote share in the four constituencies by-election, Mamta Banarjee’s TMC, which was claiming to form the next government in Tripura, got merely 2.86 per cent of the vote share.

CM Manik Saha said that BJP would continue its development works in the state after his thumping win. He also said that CPI(M) willfully transferred its vote to Congress and as they couldn’t win, Congress managed to win the Agartala seat.

Source: Organiser

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.