Former Assam CM Tarun Gogoi Receives Padma Vibhusan Posthumously

GUWAHATI: Former chief minister and Congress leader Tarun Gogoi has been awarded Padma Vibhusan posthumously on Monday for his contribution to public affairs.

On the other hand, former External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj was conferred with the Padma Vibhushan award posthumously on Monday.

President Ram Nath Kovind is presenting the Padma Awards in the Rashtrapati Bhawan. Sushma Swaraj’s daughter Bansuri Swaraj received the award on her behalf.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Union External Affairs Minister S Jaishankar among others were also present on the occasion.

Moreover, eight civilians from Assam have been given the prestigious Padma Shri at a ceremony held at Rashtrapati Bhawan in the national capital.

The eight civilians from Assam are: Lakhimi Baruah (Social Work), Bijoya Chakravarty (Public Affairs), Gopiram Bargaya Burabhakat (Art), Mangal Singh Hazowary (Literature and Education), Dulal Manki (Art), Birubala Rabha (Social Work), Roman Sarmah (Literature and Education – Journalism), and Imran Shah ( Literature and Education).

In the 2020 edition of the Padma Awards, seven awardees have been honoured with the second-highest civilian award – Padma Vibhushan, 10 civilians from different fields will be conferred 10 Padma Bhushan, and 102 civilians will be awarded the fourth civilian honour – Padma Shri.

This year 29 of the awardees are women, 16 Posthumous awardees and 1 transgender awardee. This year the President also approved the conferment to a duo case. In a duo case, the award is counted as one.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.