Droupadi Murmu becomes the 15th President of India

New Delhi: National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Droupadi Murmu become the 15th President of India on Thursday after defeating opposition presidential candidate Yashwant Sinha.

Celebrating Murmu’s win against Sinha folk artists also performed a tribal dance at Mother Teresa Crescent Road in Delhi.

Though Murmu doesn’t need any introduction, however, her journey has been tough so far she faced certain challenges.

Murmu has become the first leader born after independence to reach this top post and also she became the first tribal and the youngest president of the country.

Due to the absence of assembly in Jammu and Kashmir, the value of votes of MPs has decreased from 708 to 700 this time. At the same time, the value of votes of MLAs is different according to the states.

The majority figure for the victory of any candidate in the presidential election is 5,43,216. NDA has claimed to have a total of 5,33,751 votes. At the same time, there are 3,60,362 votes in the opposition’s account.

In such a way, it was quite obvious that Murmu can win this election. Apart from BJD from Odisha, Akali Dal from Punjab, Mayawati’s BSP, TDP, and YSRCP have also supported her. Many MLAs of Shiv Sena were also in her favor while NCP MLAs have also voted in favor of Murmu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.