Dipu Gangmei sworn in as HAC Chairman ; Ministry expansion soon, says CM

Imphal, April 12 2022: Chief Minister N Biren has stated that the Council of Ministers would be expanded to the full capacity soon.

It is unlikely for non-BJP MLAs to get Ministerial berths when the Council of Ministers is expanded, Biren said.

Speaking to media persons today after congratulating newly elected Hill Areas Committee (HAC) Chairman Dingang-lung Gangmei, Biren said that he had consulted with BJP Central leaders on filling up all the vacant Ministerial berths of his Government.

He stated that all the vacant Ministerial berths would be filled up shortly.

On being enquired if any of the non-BJP MLAs who have been supporting the Government from outside would be inducted into the Council of Ministers, the Chief Minister said that it is unlikely for non-BJP MLAs to get any Ministerial berth.

Being an ally of the Government, the question of NPF, however, may be discussed by Central leaders regarding the Ministry expansion, Biren said.

“Let us see what instruction BJP Central leaders give to the State Government”, he added.

Notably, six Ministerial berths are currently vacant in the incumbent BJP-led Government.

Even though Chief Minister N Biren and five Ministers were sworn in on March 21, six Ministerial berths have been lying vacant till date.

The five Ministers who were sworn in earlier are Th Biswajit, Y Khemchand, Govindas Konthoujam, Nemcha Kipgen and Awangbow Newmai.

Incidentally, NPF is an internal ally of the BJP-led Government and one Ministerial berth has been already given to its MLA Awangbow Newmai.

Notably, BJP secured 32 seats out of the total 60 seats of Manipur Legislative Assembly in the election held in February and March.

BJP secured 32 seats in the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election while NPP won seven seats, NPF five seats, JD-U six seats, Congress five seats and KPA two seats.

Three Independent candidates too got elected.

NPP, JD-U, KPA and two Independent MLAs have already pledged support to the BJP Govt.The Chief Minister and the five Ministers sworn in earlier were allocated Ministerial portfolios on March 26 .

Th Biswajit was allocated Power Department, Forest, Environment and Climate Change Department, Agriculture Dept and Science & Technology Department.

Yumnam Khemchand was given MAHUD Department, Rural Development & Panchayati Raj Department and Education Department.

Konthoujam Govindas has been put in charge of PWD and YAS Department.

Nemcha Kipgen was allocated Textiles, Commerce & Industry Department and Cooperation Department.

Water Resources Department and Relief & Disaster Management Department were allocated to Awangbow Newmai.

Chief Minister N Biren is in charge of Home Department, Personnel and Administrative Reforms Department, Confidential & Cabinet Department, Vigilance & Anti-Corruption Department, Information & Technology Department, Planning Department and all other departments which have not been allocated to any other Minister so far.

Taking to his Twitter handle, CM Biren Singh wrote, “Congratulations to Hon’ble MLA, Shri Dinganglung Gangmei (Dipu) on being elected as the Chairman of Hill Areas Committee (HAC)” .

Looking forward to working with you to further enhance the process of peace and development in the hills of Manipur, added Singh.

BJP MLA Dipu Gangmei of Nungba Assembly Constituency in Tamenglong district was elected unopposed as the new HAC chairman.

He was the lone person to have submitted the nomination paper till the last date, which was Monday (April 11) .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *