BJP sweeps panchayat bye-poll in Arunachal Pradesh

ITANAGAR: The ruling BJP in Arunachal Pradesh clinched the Panchayat bye-poll by winning 108-gram panchayat (GP) seats, elections for which were held on July 12 last, State Election Commission (SEC) official informed here on Saturday.

While the National Peoples’ Party (NPP) secured five GP seats, opposition Congress and Janata Dal (United) won three each and Independent bagged 11 seats, counting of votes for which was held on Saturday, State Election Commissioner Hage Kojeen informed.

In the lone Zila Parishad member (ZPM) seat in the Kurung Kumey district, Independent candidate Bengia Taeyang won by defeating his rival NPP candidate Chello Tagar, by a margin of 98 votes.

The SEC had on June 14 this year, issued a notification for holding panchayat by-polls to 130 GPs and one ZPM seat.

However, 116 GPM seats were declared unopposed, out of which the ruling BJP won 101 seats, the NPP and Congress two seats respectively including, one by JD(U) and ten by independent candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.