BJP crosses magic figure, JD (U) debuts with a bang

Imphal, March 10 2022: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) scored a landslide victory in the 12th Manipur Legislative Assembly election by winning as many as 32 seats.

Even as rival Congress party gave a very poor performance, Janata Dal-United JD (U) made its debut in the State’s political landscape with a bang bagging 6 seats.

NPP won seven seats, JD (U) six, NPF five, Independents three and KPA two.

Indian National Congress (INC) which bagged the maximum number of seats in the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly election suffered a crushing defeat this time.

The party led by three-time Chief Minister Okram Ibobi could manage to win just five seats.

Chief Minister N Biren BJP had a cakewalk over his nearest rival P Saratchandra of INC by a whopping margin of 18,271 votes in Heingang AC.

Other victorious BJP candidates include sitting MLAs Th Biswajit (Thongju AC), L Susindro (Khurai AC), L Rameshore (Keirao AC), Th Shyamkumar (Andro AC), RK Imo (Sagolband AC), Y Khemchand (Singjamei AC), Th Satyabrata (Yaiskul AC), H Dingo (Sekmai AC), Dr Sapam Ranjan (Konthoujam AC), Karam Shyam (Langthabal AC), K Robindro (Mayang Imphal AC), S Rajen (Lamsang AC), K Govindas (Bishnupur AC), T Robindro (Thanga AC), Th Radheshyam (Heirok AC), P Brojen (Wangjing-Tentha AC) Y Radheshyam (Hiyanglam AC), Letpao Haokip (Tengnoupal AC), Nemcha Kipgen (Kangpokpi AC), Vungzagin Valte (Thanlon) .

Other BJP candidates who have emerged victorious are Kh Raghumani (Uripok AC), Sapam Kunjakishore alias Keba (Patsoi AC), S Kebi (Naoriya Pakhanglakpa AC), Kh Ibomcha (Lamlai AC), Th Basanta (Nambol AC), Usham Deben (Wabagai AC), SS Olish (Chandel AC), Dinganglung Gangmei (Nungba AC), Letzamang Haokip (Henglep AC) and Paokholal Haokip (Saikot AC) .

BJP’s sitting MLAs who were defeated by their respective rivals include L Radhakishore in Oinam AC, V Hangkhanlian in Churachandpur AC, O Lukhoi in Wangoi AC, N Indrajit in Kshetrigao AC and Ginsuanhau Zou in Singhat AC.

NPP’s victorious candidates are Sheikh Nurul Hassan (Kshetrigao AC), Kh Loken (Wangoi AC), Irengbam Nalini (Oinam AC), Th Shanti (Moirang AC), M Rameshwar (Kakching AC), Jamhenlung Panmei (Tamenglong AC) and N Kayisii (Tadubi AC) .

NPF secured five seats, one more than their previous score.

The Naga People’s Front (NPF) has made a clean sweep of all the three Assembly segments of Ukhrul and Kamjong districts.

Leishiyo Keishing retained Phungyar by defeating his nearest rival Hopingson A Shimray of BJP.

Ramnganing Muivah dethroned INC’s sitting MLA Alfred Arthur Kanngam to grab Ukhrul.

Khashim Vashum retained Chingai AC by drubbing NPP challenger Ningam Chamroy by 2378 votes.

Losii Dikho too retained Mao AC as Awangbow Newmai has been re-elected from Tamei AC.

Independent candidates Nishikant Singh Sapam bagged Keishamthong AC as Haokholet Kipgen won Saitu AC while J Kumo Sha wrested Karong AC.

JD (U) which is contesting elections in Manipur for the first time has made a very impressive start.

The party’s victorious candidates include Khumukcham Joykisan (Thangmeiband AC), Th Arunkumar (Wangkhei AC), Abdul Nasir (Lilong AC), Asab Uddin (Jiribam AC), Ngursanglur Sanate (Tipaimukh AC) and LM Khaute (Churachandpur AC) .

The Kuki People’s Alliance (KPA) also made a promising start by securing two seats.

Kimneo Haokip Hangsing bagged Saikul AC as Chinlunthang won Singnat AC.

Okram Ibobi (Thoubal AC), Th Lokeshore (Khundrakpam AC), K Meghachandra (Wangkhem AC), Surjakumar Okram (Khangabok AC) and K Ranjit (Sugnu) were the only face savers of Congress party.

Some big names of Congress party who lost the election include former Deputy Chief Minister Gaikhangam (Nungba AC), MPCC president N Loken (Nambol AC), AK Mirabai (Patsoi AC), TN Haokip (Saikot AC), DD Thaisii (Karong AC), Dr Chaltonlien Amo (Tipaimukh AC) and T Manga Vaiphei (Henglep AC) .

NPP’s L Jayantakumar and Deputy Chief Minister N Joykumar too lost the election.

Notably, five of the six incumbent MLAs from Churachandpur and Pherzawl districts have lost their seats today.

TA and Hills Minister Vungzagin is the only one who managed to defend his seat at 56-Thanlon AC.

The results that came tumbling today saw the exit of three seasoned politicians, former Minister V Hangkhanlian, former Speaker TN Haokip and former Minister Dr Chaltonlien Amo.

Another political figure Ginsuanhau Zou also failed to hold his grip at Singngat AC.

In Thoubal district, both BJP and Congress won four seats each while JD (U) and NPP managed to bag one seat each.

Congress party drew blank in Bishnupur district even though it was once considered an impregnable fortress of the grand old party.

Of the six Assembly segments of Bishnupur district, BJP won four while the other two were picked up by NPP.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.