Assam: Three persons including Digboi MLA race for BJP ticket in 2021 Assembly Election

DIGBOI Sept 24-2020: Three persons, including the MLA of Digboi, are reportedly keen to contest the 2021 assembly election on a Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) ticket for the Digboi assembly seat. The incumbent BJP MLA of Digboi, Suren Phukon has expressed confidence of regaining the seat in 2021. “I will definitely contest, whether the party high command allots the ticket to me or not,” he said.

Arunjyoti Moran, the president of Moran Students’ Union, whose growing popularity among the people of Tinsukia district might get him a BJP ticket, hails from a rural background. He is working relentlessly to win the confidence of the rural people in particular, said political observers.

“If properly pitched, Congress will return in the Digboi seat as the tug of war among the ambitious contenders for BJP ticket will benefit the Congress,” said Bhaskar Jibon Baruah, a follower of former Congress minister Rameswar Dhanowar of Digboi. Rameswar Dhanowar’s son Gautam Dhanowar and Bhaskar Jiban Baruah are two potential ticket seekers of the Congress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.