Assam: Three candidates for bye-election withdraw nomination in Baksa

GORESWAR: Altogether 3 high-voltage candidates for Tamulpur bye-election withdrew their nomination on Saturday at the last moment and last day of the withdraw date.

Emanuel Muchahary, former MLA of Tamulpur LAC who filed nomination papers as independent candidate had a discussion with Diganta Kalita, BJP MLA of Kamalpur Legislative Assembly and decided to withdraw his nomination. He rushed to the returning officer at the last moment and withdrew his papers today afternoon.

Emanuel Muchahary, who was an executive member of State BJP, resigned today from the party position and primary membership. In a press release issued by the former MLA Muchary stated that he sent his resignation letter to State BJP president Bhabesh Kalita.

It may be mentioned here that Muchahary had joined the BJP with fifty thousand supporters a few months back.

In a press release issued by Returning officer of 58 No Tamulpur LAC today stated that former MLA Chandi Basumatary and former Executive Member of BTC, Deben Boro also withdrew their nominations today. Both of them filed their nomination papers as independent candidates from the Returning officer of the LAC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.