Assam By-Poll: Congress To Contest In 4 Constituencies

Guwahati: The Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) has decided to contest in four assembly constituencies and leave two seats for Asom Jatiya Parishad and Rijor Dal in the upcoming state assembly by-poll.

The by-polls to the five seats of Thowra, Mariani, Bhabanipur, Tamulpur, and Gossaigaon will be held on October 30.

Presently, the Majuli seat is also vacant; the by-poll date for the seat was not announced yet as union minister Sarbananda Sonowal who was the legislator from the seat has resigned as Majuli MLA only after the election commission announced dates for by-polls in the state.

The chief of Assam Congress Bhupen Borah has said that following a condition with both the regional parties Congress has left two seats for them.

He informed that the regional parties have to support Assam Congress in the poll in these five assembly constituencies.

Borah said, “Following the direction of the Assam Pradesh election committee, APCC has decided to leave one seat each to both the regional parties, we have also invited Raijor Dal vice president Kamal Medhi and discussed about the development. Similarly, we had a discussion with AJP president Lurinjyoti Gogoi about leaving one seat to AJP. Further, we took the final approval in this regard from AICC secretary Jitendra Singh through a virtual meeting.”

Earlier, Assam Congress president Bhupen Kumar Borah on Monday has stated that his party will fight the assembly by-polls alone and would not form any alliance. Borah said that the party will field its own candidates as it wants to regain the lost ground in the constituencies. He claimed that the party’s organization had become weak after they formed an alliance for which the workers were demotivated in those constituencies where Congress didn’t contest.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *