Assam BTC Election Results: UPPL’s President Pramod Boro Declared New BTC Chief

Guwahati: United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) president Pramod Boro has been declared as the new chief of Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC). Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal announced Boro as the BTC’s new chief executive member (CEM) on Sunday.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) along with Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) has joined hands with UPPL to form the next council in Bodoland Territorial Areas District (BTAD). The UPPL won 12 seats, BJP won nine seats and GSP won one seat. On the other hand, Bodoland Peoples’ Front (BPF), which has been ruling the council since its inception in 2003, emerged as the single largest party with 17 seats. However, the party will not form the government as the BJP has chosen UPPL as its new ally.

The oath-taking ceremony for the new BTC chief Pramod Boro and council members will be held on December 15. Congratulating the new ally, UPPL, Union Home Minister Amit Shah took to Twitter to express his gratitude to the people of Assam for their faith in Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Retweeting the tweet of Amit Shah, Assam Minister of Finance, Health, Education, and PWD, Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma said that the state will see further glory in the days ahead.

The new BTC Chief, Boro have won both the Koklabari and Goibari constituencies in the BTC elections. He joined the party at the Fourth Annual Convention held at Bijni in February 2020. Boro’s convoy was also attacked by unidentified miscreants on December 9 at Naigaon in Kokrajhar districts.

Bodo politician, Pramila Rani Brahm rushed to Guwahati from Kokrajhar after the declaration of the new BTC Chief.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.