‘6 Congress MLA’s Likely To Switch Over To BJP’, Claims MLA Phanidhar Talukdar

Guwahati: The Congress Party is facing an exodus from its own party members in recent times. A number of stalwart leaders have exited the party following their recent poll debacles across India. The state of Assam is no different. The grand old party is gradually losing its grip over the state which was once considered to be its bastion and their arch-rivals BJP have cashed in on the turmoil within the Assam unit of the Congress.

In an explosive revelation, Bhabanipur constituency MLA Phanidhar Talukdar on April 25 disclosed that around six Congress MLAs in Assam are likely to jump ship and switch over to the ruling BJP. The Bhabanipur legislator did not spill out any names but he did claim that all Hindu leaders in Assam Congress will be joining the BJP. The confession made by the MLA comes a day after the results of the GMC polls were announced.

Phanidhar Talukdar told the media that the leader of the opposition in the Assam Legislative Assembly will be from the AIUDF party sooner rather than later. He minced no words and launched a scathing attack on Bhupen Bora, the president of the Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC). Phanidhar Talukdar stated that Congress will be brought down to rubbles in Assam as long as Bhupen Bora remains the APCC president.

The legislator asserted with full conviction that the BJP will rule all over Assam for the next thirty years. Meanwhile, the Congress, which happens to be the second-largest party in the state assembly and the principal opposition to the ruling BJP, got wiped out in the GMC elections and they failed to open their account. The saffron party scored yet another landslide victory in the GMC elections by clinching 52 seats while its ally AGP secured 6 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) and the Assam Jatiya Parishad (AJP) bagged one seat each.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.